The Seven Beatitudes of Revelation

I participate in a women’s Bible study at our church on Tuesday mornings.  We are in a Precepts Ministries study (three of four) of Revelation.  I am looking forward to the many weeks of study in this session because we will link the signs and prophecies of John’s Revelation with those in the gospels.

This morning, I was reading the assigned chapters, and I reached Revelation 19:9, “Blessed are those who are invited to the marriage supper of the Lamb.”  I got distracted by the note in my NASB study Bible that referenced this as one of the seven beatitudes in Revelation.

  1. Revelation 1:3 “Blessed is he who reads and those who hear the words of this prophecy, and heed the things which are written in it; for the time is near.”
  2. Revelation 14:13 “Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord from now on!  “Yes,” says the Spirit, “so that they may  rest from their labors, for their deeds follow with them.””
  3. Revelation 16:15 (“Behold, I am coming like a thief.  Blessed is the one who stays awake and keeps his clothes, so that he will not walk about naked and men will not see his shame.”)
  4. Revelation 19:9  – above
  5. Revelation 20:6 Blessed and holy is the one who has a part in the first resurrection; over these the second death has no power but they will be priests of God and of Christ and will reign with Him for a thousand years.
  6. Revelation 22:7 “And behold, I am coming quickly.  Blessed is he who heeds the words of the prophecy of this book.”
  7. Revelation 22:14 “Blessed are those who wash their robes, so that they may have the right to the tree of life, and may enter by the gates into the city.”

As I pursued these references, I heard echos of many cross-referenced scriptures.  The one that slowed me down the most was Rev. 16:15, “Blessed is the one who stays awake and keeps his clothes, so that he will not walk about naked and men will not see his shame.”   Listen for the voice speaking from Genesis – “Then the LORD God called to the man, and said to him, “Where are you?”  He said, “I heard the sound of You in the garden, and I was afraid because I was naked; so I hid myself.”  And, an earlier echo from Gen. 2:25, “And the man and his wife were both naked and were not ashamed.”

Adam’s shame was not covered by his self-made leaf clothing. Instead, “the LORD God made garments of skin for Adam and his wife, and clothed them.” (Genesis 3:21)

Today, my self-made coverings are still inadequate.  Today, animal skins will not cover my sin-shame.  Today, the shame of my sin is hidden in repentance and forgiveness; by new birth and new life; in trusting Christ as my Redeemer.  “For all of you who were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ.” (Galatians 3:27)  “Therefore if anyone is in Christ, (s)he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come.  Now all these things are from God, who reconciled us to Himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation.” (2 Corinthians 5:17-18)

These beatitudes (blessings) are given to any and all who trust Christ to give them their clothing for eternity.  When the final blessing is pronounced in Rev. 22:14, we do have robes!  We are not naked, we are prepared for the city of heaven.

Our ministry is to continue to invite others to “Come.”

Leave a Reply

