Happy Birthday to Me!

Yes, yes, this isn’t quite appropriate but I want to do it anyway.  We keep birthday’s pretty low key around here.  Often, I have gone shopping and bought myself something for my birthday.  This year, I started a blog.

Why do I want to record what I am thinking?

First of all, I do like to think.  If I am reading the Bible, working on a study lesson, reading a book, or exploring nature, I have made it a practice to stop at a point that invites questions, incites praises, or implicates by conviction.  I don’t think enough women, young to old, spend time thinking through the issues that affect their daily lives.  We make ourselves too busy to let our minds have time to seek out the truths of God’s word and compare it to the message of the world.

Second, I am always amazed when I come to Paul exhorting other believers to follow his example.  If I believe Paul was inspired to write and encourage “so that you would walk in a manner worthy of the God who calls you into His own kingdom and glory” (1 Thes. 2:12); if I believe that there are times that my questions, praises, repentance, and receipt of grace are worthy, maybe, just maybe, you will realize you are invited to join me.

Finally, I love what the choir director writes in Psalm 45:1, “My heart overflows with a good theme; I address my verses to the King; My tongue is the pen of a ready writer.”  Sometimes my overflow just has to have somewhere to go!

Thank you Lord for my life, my family, and my friends.

Leave a Reply

