Happy New Year

A New Year’s Resolution – made public.

This year for Christmas I received several new journals.  These are not your ordinary, write out your thoughts and feelings journals, but are part of a growing set called Journibles The 17:18 Series, Reformation Heritage Books.  The series in based on the scripture instruction to the king of Israel found in Deuteronomy 17:18, “Now it shall come about when he sits on the throne of his kingdom, he shall write for himself a copy of this law on a scroll in the presence of the Levitical priests.  It shall be with him and he shall read it all the days of his life, that he may learn to fear the LORD his God, by carefully observing all the words of this law and these statutes.”

I was given the 2 volume set for the Psalms and one for Proverbs.  Click the link for yourself to read the endorsements and learning philosophy behind this project.

So… my resolution / goal is to write through the Psalms in this coming year.  I would never have made this a public declaration except that our pastor preached on Psalm 98 this morning.  “O sing to the LORD a new song.”  There are many different kinds of songs sung in this book:  counting of blessings, singing the blues (notably with many a change in perspective), joyful praise, prophetic glimpses of the future, imprecations against the enemy, etc.  Many times I have found words written here that give wings to my joy or accurate expressions of my fears.

As a daughter of a providentially sovereign God, I do not believe in coincidences.  I hope a public admission of my goal will help to keep me on track.

Leave a Reply

