A “Duh!” moment

I planted a pussy willow shrub next to our front porch last summer. I like the way the little puffs stand out from the branches and thought it would be fun to have one of my own. I was so disappointed when I didn’t have any of those ‘little puffs’ last fall. Today, in spring – my Duh! moment – the pussy willow is so beautiful.

It’s good to share these sorts of moments with one another lest I think perfection is attainable (ha, ha, cough, cough!) in this world.

This also reminded me that too often my prayer requests take the form of simply disclosing my expectations instead of seeking God and His perfect will and timing. This may be for me or for loved ones. I don’t believe that we shouldn’t tell God what we want; it’s just that we ultimately put our faith and trust in Him and His perfections. There have been times when I was acutely aware that as I prayed for healing for someone, God might very well completely heal them from all consequences of sin and disease and I had to stop and think about that.

Psalm 69 is one of those where the psalmist prays for God to deliver him from a vicious enemy.”I am weary with my crying; my throat is parched; my eyes fail while I wait for my God.” (3) He goes on to confess his sin, spells out his troubles and yes, he even has some suggestions of how God might deal with them. Yet, in the middle of this psalm, “But as for me, my prayer is to You, O LORD, at an acceptable time; O God, in the greatness of Your lovingkindness, answer me with the faithfulness of Your salvation.” (13)

The pussy willow puffs are its creatively designed means of bringing forth new growth. I hope they will be a reminder to grow in trust for the LORD’s timing, kindness, and salvation.

Leave a Reply

