Redemption

One of the recurring Pattern of Sound Words to note in God’s word is the theme of redemption. I was reminded of this during my Tuesday morning women’s Bible study this past winter and early spring. We are working our way through Isaiah.

Isaiah 8 contains prophesy (pre-written history) given to Isaiah concerning the northern tribes of Israel. They continually rejected the LORD their God, seeking instead the security of foreign armies and gods. Israel rejected the good things God provided including “the gently flowing waters of Shiloah,” the perennial spring of Jerusalem, and the waters of the Euphrates of Assyria will be used by God to figuratively sweep out the wealth and spoil of Damascus and Samaria. History tells us that these northern tribes have not yet been returned to wholeness with Judah.

I think it was the reference to the gently flowing waters and Samaria that transported me to the meeting of Jesus and the Samaritan woman at the well of Jacob recorded for us in John 4. They have a conversation about water, worship, and the condition of her heart. Then, to her – a woman of Samaria – Jesus reveals that He is the expected Messiah. The Redeemer Prince as promised in Isaiah 9 is come in the flesh and speaks to this woman.

Do you see the circle? Can you appreciate the significance of Jesus revealing Himself as Messiah to a Samaritan woman at a well of water traced to the patriarch Israel?  The good news of the gospel is that God’s plan is redemption. I, as Israel did, sin and fall away from the One and Only God. I am so deficient in loving God with ALL my heart, strength, soul, and mind (Matt. 22:37); anything less elevates something other than God into His rightful place and is my sin.

I praise God that He has the pattern of redemption woven into His word in so many different ways. I trust God to work His redemption in my life; to create light out of darkness, to bring joy out of despair, healing out of pain, and to continue to reveal Himself through His word. He is the creator of the universe and all of its wonders and is the Father of my Lord Jesus Christ; in whom I am made to be a new creature, with new things to come. (2 Corinthians 5:17).

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me away from your presence and do not take Your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of Your salvation and sustain me with a willing spirit.” Psalm 51:10-12

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. denise meyers
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 14:44:46

    Beautifully expressed! Praise His Holy Name!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

