Friend

The logo is from the Women’s Ministry of First Baptist Church in Hot Springs, Arkansas. There are four ladies grouped together and I am spending just a little time using them to represent some very unique and special relationships that we enter into when we come to God through belief in His son Jesus Christ. At that point John 1:12 tells us that we become Daughters of God – just think – a daughter of the King of Kings! This also benefits our relationship to one another because daughters of the same father are Sisters – Sisters in Christ. Now, Lady Number 3, is a Friend.

To help understand this relationship, I want to point to the application of the account of Jesus meeting the Samaritan Woman at Jacob’s well. Jesus speaks with a woman who is an outcast in a society of outcasts. He not only asks her for a drink but tells her that He has better, living water, and he answers her questions. This is the first time Jesus reveals specifically that he is the long awaited Messiah and he tells this to a woman! Jesus shows that he knows the sin present in her life and yet she finds acceptance and loving truth in his words.

I am somewhat jealous of this woman. How I long to sit by the side of the well and have a conversation with the sun at my back and Jesus by my side. Is it possible to have a friendship with God? Jesus told his disciples, “You are my friends if you do what I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you.” (John 15:14-15)

Every time I read or hear this story, this woman’s reaction back in her village amazes me. She encounters Jesus who knows her daily sin. Running back to the people who must have despised her, she testifies, “He told me all that I ever did.” The villagers “believed in Jesus because of the woman’s testimony.” (John 4:39) They come out to meet Jesus, hear his words, beg him to teach them, and believe that “this is indeed the Savior of the world.” (John 4:42)

God’s plan for saving us is based on relationships. Are you a daughter of God? Are you a sister in Christ? Are you a friend of God? Do you reach out to your friends with the good news that Jesus came as their Savior; that He lived and walked in obedience to God; died for their sins; was raised on the third day; and lives as their advocate before God?

Daughter • Sister • Friend • ?   Who is the fourth lady?

Leave a Reply

